UL Sports

Jul 23, 2014 3:52 PM by Release

UL's Christina Hamilton Named State's Top Amateur Female Athlete

Leonard Fournette, from St. Augustine High School, and Christina Hamilton, from Louisiana, have been selected as the 2013-14 winners of the James J. Corbett Award presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The Corbett Awards are presented annually to the top male and female amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana.

They are selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, a group of current and former media members who select the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, as well as annual award winners in a variety of categories, including the Corbett Awards and the Eddie Robinson Award.

This year's Corbett winners will be recognized along with 27 other individuals and three teams at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 2, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

A four-year starting running back at St. Augustine, Fournette was regarded as the No. 1 high school player in the nation for the 2013 season. He was named the USA Today National Offensive Player of the Year as well as being selected as a member of the All-USA First Team and the prestigious Parade All-America First Team.

Fournette, who led his team to a 9-2 record and an appearance in the Division I semifinal game as a senior, was also listed as the No. 1 overall prospect in the nation by ESPN.com and Scout.com and was named the 2013 Mr. Football by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Fournette is the first high school athlete to earn the Corbett Award winner since its inception in 1967.

Hamilton, the Sun Belt Pitcher of the Year, compiled a 29-4 record during a record-setting year for the Ragin' Cajuns. After posting a 22-1 record during the regular season, she picked up two more wins as the Ragin' Cajuns won the Sun Belt Tournament Championship, three wins in the NCAA Regionals, including two against Texas, and finally two more in an NCAA Super Regional sweep of Arizona.

Nine of her victories came against ranked teams, including both games in a doubleheader sweep of defending national champion, Oklahoma, nearly throwing a no-hitter in her complete game shutout in the first game.

Louisiana, which was a No. 6 national seed in the NCAA Tournament, finished the year with a 49-10-1 overall record. In addition to earning Sun Belt Pitcher of the Year honors, Hamilton was also the Louisiana Pitcher of the Year and a Second-Team All-American.

The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl. At the time of his death, Mr. Corbett was the Athletic Director at Louisiana State University. These awards are presented annually to the most outstanding amateur male and female athletes in the State of Louisiana. The Corbett recipients are selected each year by members of the New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, based on nominations submitted by the state's sportswriters, sportscasters and sports information directors.

Since its inception in 1967 (through 2013), Corbett Award winners include 16 NFL players, seven Major League Baseball players, four NBA players (including two Hall of Famers), eight Olympians (including seven Gold Medal winners), three WNBA players and one PGA Tour star.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular