Nov 29, 2013 4:44 AM by AP
BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - State officials are reminding shoppers on Black Friday, Cyber Monday and throughout the year that "online" does not mean "tax-free."
Louisiana's Consumer Use Tax applies to purchases from out-of-state vendors who do not charge sales tax. When out-of-state vendors do not charge sales tax, the state Department of Revenue says state law requires the shopper to report and pay the Consumer Use Tax. The tax is calculated at a rate of 8 percent, payable directly to the Department of Revenue.
The department says the tax protects Louisiana businesses from unfair competition and helps provide money for vital state services including education, health care and public safety.
Shoppers can report the tax on their state individual income tax returns or use the Consumer Use Tax return, available at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms .
19 hours ago