Jul 4, 2014 5:53 PM by Release

Six Cane Cutters Named To TCL All-Star Team

The Texas Collegiate League announced its rosters for the 2014 TCL All-Star Game on Friday. The affair will be hosted by the Brazos Valley Bombers at Cellucor Field on Tuesday, July 8.

The league returns to a North-South format this year, with the host Bombers teaming up with the East Texas Pump Jacks and the Texas Marshals to make up the North. The South squad will be comprised of representatives of the Acadiana Cane Cutters, Victoria Generals, and Woodlands Strykers.

There will be no shortage of star power at this year's event. Nine Dinger Bats TCL Player and Pitcher of the Week honorees will participate in the All-Star Game. The top-14 batting average qualifiers, the top-seven in RBI, the top-seven in ERA, and the leaders in wins, strikeouts, and innings pitched will also be in attendance.

It comes as no surprise that the Bombers lead all TCL teams with 11 participants. Brazos Valley, which won the league title in 2013 and was named summer collegiate national champion by Perfect Game, won the first-half title with a 22-6 record. The Generals, who finished in second with a 22-8 mark, lead the South with nine all-stars.

Six players repeated this season as all-stars, and five of them were the top vote-getters at their position. G.R. Hinsley, who set the TCL single-season RBI record last year, will repeat at first base, and Bombers teammate Horacio Correa III will return as the starting shortstop. Brazos Valley hurler Nick Johnson was named the top reliever for the North squad. On the South, 2013 TCL All-Star Home Run Derby champion Kevin Santana from the Strykers will start as the designated hitter. Santana's teammate Gandy Stubblefield was named the top reliever for the South.

The Pump Jacks' Matthew Dickey, who set the league stolen base record in 2013 and who started in the All-Star Game last year, will be a reserve for the North.

Hinsley and Correa will be surrounded by Marshals in the North infield. Carson Shaddy will start behind the plate, with Carlos Contreras at second base and Chase Doughdrill at third.

The starting South infield features Acadiana teammates Hunter Wood and Taylor Walker will start at catcher and first base, respectively. The rest of the infield will be comprised of Generals: Pedro Barrios at second base, TCL batting leader Alvaro Rondon at short, and Cedric Vallieres at the hot corner.

The North outfield includes a pair of teammates from the host Bombers, Hunter Haley and Matt Hilston. Joe Moroney from the Pump Jacks rounds out the starting outfield.

Victoria teammates Justin Pacchiolli and Brian Portelli will be joined by Acadiana's Connor Barron in the South outfield.

Santana will start as designated hitter for the South, with Jace Reese from the Marshals serving as his counterpart on the North.

Reserves for the North include infielders Logan Nottebrok from the Bombers, Andrew Grifol out of East Texas, and the Marshals' Oliver Christensen.

Their counterparts on the South are catcher Dayfran Ortiz from Victoria and Woodlands teammates Spence Rahm and Cody Clarke.

Dickey will serve as the reserve outfield for the North, and league stolen base leader Mark Whitehead from the Strykers will do the same for the South.

The North pitching staff is led by three Bombers favorites. League wins leader Garrett Harris, the top righty, and left-hander Eric Polivka join Johnson as top vote-getters.

They are joined by three more Brazos Valley pitchers: Cody Brannon, Zach Girrens, and Andre Shewcraft.

Texas right-hander Nick Palacios and East Texas teammates Jeremy Hallonquist and Anthony Gonsolin round out the North staff.

The South staff is led by righty Ryan Benitez from the Generals and left-hander Andrew Godail from the Woodlands. The two are both in the top-ten in ERA and are tied for the league lead in strikeouts. Stubblefield was the top vote-getter among relievers.

A trio of Cane Cutters will bolster the South bullpen. Lefty Scott Ashford will make the trip with right-handers Ryan May and Alec Sanchez.

Completing the South staff are league ERA leader Ty Schlottmann and Kris Looper from the Generals, and the Strykers' Nolan Holland.

Two-time defending TCL Coach of the Year Curt Dixon will skipper the North squad, with Victoria's Jonathan Burns at the helm for the South.

Last year, the East defeated the West in an 11-8 shootout. Ty Marlow from the host Pump Jacks walked away with MVP honors after going 3-for-5 with a perfect inning on the mound.

For more information on the 2014 TCL All-Star Game and to purchase tickets, visit or call the Bombers at (979) 779-PLAY.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular