Around Acadiana

Feb 15, 2014 6:15 PM by KATC

Qualifying Ends for the Spring Municipal Elections

Qualifying for the spring municipal elections ended on Friday, February 14th. Five Acadiana parishes are qualifying for the April 5, 2014 election. Those parishies include Evangeline, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion. In those five parishes there are several candidates that are unopposed.

First up, in Evangeline Parish, Gail "Mac" McDavid, is unopposed in the Alderman Village of Chataignier seat. This was the only race in Evangeline Parish.

Hugh C. Guidry will be the Justice of the Peace for District 18 in St. Landry Parish.

Meanwhile in St. Martin Parish, Don Legrand will be the Justice of the Peace for Ward 5. Michael "Mike" Fuselier will remain Councilman of District 1 for the City of St. Martinville.

In St. Mary Parish, several Council Members for the City of Franklin are unopposed. Dale J. Rogers takes District A, Eugene P. Foulcard, District C, and Joseph "Joe" Garrison will hold the District D seat.

Finally, in Vermilion Parish, Mark Piazza will remain Mayor for the City of Abbeville. Tony Hardy will also remain the Chief of Police for the City of Abbeville, and Francis J. Plaisance will remain the Councilman at Large for the City of Abbeville. For the City of Kaplan, Boyd Adams will remain the Chief of Police. District A Alderman will remain Eva Dell Morrison, as well as District D, who is Kevin G. Guidry. As for District B, that goes to John W. Carbaugh, and District C, Richard D. LeBlanc.

For more information on the spring municipal elections, visit the Secretary of State's website.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular