Apr 6, 2014 5:49 PM by AP

Incumbents, new faces win races across Louisiana

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Across Louisiana, residents cast ballots that sent incumbents back to city hall, brought in some new faces and left a few races still undecided.

However, complete, but unofficial results from Saturday elections show at least four municipalities will face runoff elections on May 3.

In DeRidder, Marksville, Rayville and Winnsboro, incumbents won another term.

Rayville Mayor Harry Lewis won re-election over challenger Morgan Moss Jr. with 646 votes to 400 votes, while, in Winnsboro, Mayor Jackie Johnson narrowly won re-election over challenger John "Sonny" Dumas with 852 votes to 763 votes.

Marksville Mayor John Lemoine was re-elected to a second term, defeating Minnie Lafargue with nearly 55 percent of the vote and DeRidder Mayor Ron Roberts won his third term, defeating City Councilman Robert Rice with more than 73 percent of the vote.

In Oak Grove, residents will see a new face in the mayor's office.

Democrat Adam Holland defeated Jerry Waters, no party, 300 votes to 178 votes. Holland replaces long-time Mayor Lavelle Brown, who did not seek re-election.

In Leesville, businessman Richard Allen also unseated an incumbent, Charles Rose.

Allen, owner of Rick Allen Construction Management and Leesville Motor Sports Park, received 696 votes, nearly 55 percent of the turnout. Rose, who is serving his first term as mayor after narrowly losing races in 2006 and 2010, finished with 577 votes, or 45 percent.

However, in Colfax, challenger Ossie Clark finished ahead of two-time Mayor Gerald Hamilton but fell one vote short of winning outright. Clark got exactly 50 percent of the votes - 172 out of 344. Hamilton received 151 votes, or 44 percent. The two face off in a May 3 runoff.

In Winnfield, Kiah Beville will face Raza Ali Mughal in a runoff. Beville had 47 percent of the vote in Saturday's four-candidate primary, while Mughal had 36 percent.

Edna Jones and Rosiah Humphery will contest the mayor's race in the village of Natchez in a runoff. Jones earned 40 percent of the vote, while Humphery took 38 percent.

Sulphur Mayor Chris Duncan narrowly missed being re-elected and now faces a runoff against former Mayor Ron LeLeux.

Duncan received 1,780 votes, or 47 percent, just short of the majority needed to win outright. LeLeux finished second with 870 votes (23 percent), followed by Clopha Boudreaux III with 726 votes (19 percent) and former councilman Mike Koonce with 395 votes (10 percent).

Duncan is serving his first term as mayor. He previously served as a councilman.


»Topics in this article

Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular