Jul 4, 2014 10:21 PM by Release

D.S. "Shine" Young Memorial Futurity Highlights Saturday's Card at Evangeline Downs

Opelousas, Louisiana­-Louisiana bred two-year-olds take center stage this holiday weekend at Evangeline Downs Racetrack Casino & Hotel with two divisions (one for colts & geldings, and one for fillies) of the $100,000 D. S. "Shine" Young Memorial Futurity this Saturday evening, July 5th at Evangeline Downs Racetrack Casino & Hotel.

Each division will be run at the distance of 5 ½ furlongs on the main track, and as the first big money events of the season for the babies both have drawn full fields with the fillies oversubscribed with eighteen entered for the race with twelve drawing starting berths and an additional two on the also-eligible list in case of any late scratches, and the colts & geldings division also listed with the maximum twelve starters.

Joy of the Saints and Our Bloomin Rose, impressive debut winners in May, along with five additional last out or debut winners, are part of what is shaping up as the strongest edition of the filly division of the "Shine" since the Futurity was first split into two divisions back in 2008. Two of the top breeding and racing operations in Louisiana, Whispering Oaks Farm & Coteau Grove Farms have the two morning-line favorites in Salute the C and Strong Currency. Salute the C, a ½ brother to the multiple allowance winner M Dication who was a front running winner in his only start back on Louisiana Legends Night in late May, while Strong Currency avenged his debut defeat with an eye-catching win here at Evangeline Downs on June 12.

The "Shine", formerly run as both the Cajun Futurity and the Southwest Futurity, has been held every year during the 49-year history of racing at Evangeline Downs. Since its inception, the race has anchored the 2-year-old stakes program in South-Central Louisiana and has featured some powerful and memorable performances, beginning with the inaugural running back in 1966 when Tellike stormed home to win the then named Cajun Futurity. In 1978, the race was known as the Southwest Futurity and in that year's renewal A Toast to Junius romped home under Hall of Fame jockey Randy Romero. Trained by Junius Delahoussaye, A Toast to Junius would go on to win the first eight races of his career and 11 of 16 overall before retiring to a solid career in the breeding shed. In 1999, Hallowed Dreams, who would earn national acclaim while winning the first 16 races of her career, had her coming out party on a humid July evening as the Lloyd Romero trained filly won the "Shine" by eight lengths and set a track record while completely dominating her rivals under jockey Sylvester Carmouche Jr. The daughter of Malagra would go on to win a total of 25 times from just 30 starts during her four-year career.

Carded as the 8th & 10th races on Saturday's eleven-race program, the approximate post times for the filly division and the colts & geldings division of the D. S. "Shine" Young Memorial Futurity are 8:49 p.m. and 9:43 p.m. Central Time.

Here are the fields in program order with odds for both divisions of the D. S. "Shine" Young Memorial Futurity.

Filly Division-8th Race.
1. Sawyer's Wonder Kirk LeBlanc 15/1
2. Miss Molly B Billy Patin 8/1
3. Golden Barbara Mitchell Murrill 12/1
4. Snarky Belle Tracy Hebert 6/1
5. Gold Chrome Gerard Melancon 10/1
6. Our Bloomin Rose Diego Saenz 4/1
7. Joy of the Saints Filemon Rodriguez 7/2
8. Miss Frances Joe Patin Jr. 10/1
9. Lady Emily Sage Colby Hernandez 6/1
10. Sweet N Delightful Odilon Martinez 20/1
11. Forest Lake Jansen Melancon 15/1
12. Watch the Gate Courtney Hernandez 30/1
13. Escalady Kirk LeBlanc 20/1
14. Spirit of a Cat Tyler Woodley 30/1

Colts & Geldings Division---10th Race.
1. Salute the C Gerard Melancon 3/1
2. Harry Long Legs Tracy Hebert 15/1
3. Hammeron Cameron Tyler Woodley 20/1
4. Adios West Donnie Meche 10/1
5. Nathan's Kiss Billy Patin 12/1
6. Streak Afleet Kirk LeBlanc 8/1
7. Strong Currency Diego Saenz 7/2
8. Royal Rising Colby Hernandez 15/1
9. Smudge Kevin Smith 6/1
10. Union Builder Miguel Mena 15/1
11. Runaway Ide Benito Morales 8/1
12. Pie Punch Mitchell Murrill 30/1

The 2014 Spring/Summer Thoroughbred racing season features a four-evening-a-week schedule, Wednesday's thru Saturday's with a first post of 5:40 P.M. Central Time.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular