Dec 16, 2013 7:44 PM by UL Sports Information

Cajuns Soccer Trio Earns More Postseason Honors

LAFAYETTE, La. - After helping the Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns soccer program to their best finish in school history, the trio of Grace Howell-Harries, Yazmin Montoya and Annika Schmidt were named first-team All-Louisiana by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Nicholls State's Spencer Valdespino was named the LSWA Player of the Year, with LSU's Emma Fletcher taking Freshman of the Year honors, and Louisiana College's Pamela Usry received Newcomer of the Year. Southeastern Louisianana's head coach Blake Hornbuckle took the Coach of the Year honors.

Louisiana had the second-most players selected, behind Southeastern, with four selections.

Howell-Harries rounded out an impressive postseason with the first-team selection. She was named first-team All-Sun Belt and the Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year, and also picked up second-team NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA All-South Region honors.

The junior from London, Ontario, Canada played in every minute for the Cajuns, scoring two goals and adding an assist on defense.

Montoya earned her second first-team honors of the postseason. The freshman also picked up first-team All-Sun Belt honors. She set the record for points (31) and goals (13) in a season at Louisiana, including a four-goal performance against Texas State. She finished the season with the Sun Belt lead for goals (9) and points (20) in conference games.

Schmidt also added her third postseason team of her freshman season. The Nufringen, Germany native was named second-team All-Sun Belt and third team All-Region. She set a school-record with 21 points in the first 10 games of the season, before seeing Montoya break that record later in the season.

After going 8-7-3 and finishing tied for second in the Sun Belt Conference, the Ragin' Cajuns will return ten starters from 2013, including Howell-Harries, Montoya and Schmidt.

*2013 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Soccer Collegiate Teams*

LSWA All-Louisiana First Team
Spencer Valdespino, Nicholls, So., F, Spring Hill, Fla.
Kelsey Salcido, Southeastern La., Sr., MF, Lakewood, Calif.
Emma Fletcher, LSU, Fr., MF, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Yazmin Montoya, Louisiana-Lafayette, Fr., MF, West Covina, Calif.
Grace Howell-Harries, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., D, London, Ontario, Canada
Summer Clarke, LSU, Fr., F, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Chelsea Villaescusa, Southeastern La., Jr., D, Cypress, Calif.
Jenna Pillon, ULM, Fr., F, Long Beach, Calif.
Brianna Singh, Southeastern La., Fr., F, Lancaster, Calif.
Annika Schmidt, Louisiana-Lafayette, Fr., F, Nufringen, Germany
Hope Sabadash, Southeastern La., Fr., GK, Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

*Honorable Mention: *Pamela Usry, Louisiana College; Erin Christ,
Southeastern La.; Megan Lee, LSU; Shanyce Shaw, Southeastern La.

*Player of the Year: Spencer Valdespino, Nicholls
*Freshman of the Year: Emma Fletcher, LSU
*Newcomer of the Year: Pamela Usry, Louisiana College
*Coach of the Year: Blake Hornbuckle, Southeastern La.



Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular