Covering Louisiana

Sep 12, 2013 5:44 PM by AP

Caddo, DeSoto farmers can apply for drought aid

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry says farmers in Caddo and DeSoto parishes may be eligible for federal drought assistance.

That's because they're adjacent to Panola County, one of four Texas counties that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated primary natural disaster areas because of drought. The others are Polk, Trinity and Walker.

Texas counties bordering on those four are Angelina, Grimes, Hardin, Harrison, Houston, Liberty, Madison, Montgomery, Rusk and San Jacinto, Shelby and Tyler.

Farmers in eligible areas have eight months to apply for loans to help cover actual losses from drought.

Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain said Thursday that unpredictable weather can wreak havoc on farmers, and any help they can get will help them stay in business.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular